Monthly Progress Report: January

Well, everyone, a month has come and gone for 2015. This year has already showed signs that big change will be coming. For this reason, I had decided that I’ll be doing a monthly progress report at the end of each month.

January may not have had been a month where I accomplished any of my Challenge List’s items, but I feel like it was a month of progress Since the list is rather long I am only planning on giving a report of the major progressions for my list. To see the entire Challenge list, please click here.

Compliment a different person every day

31 days down 31 different people complimented. The goal of this challenge is to get me out of my comfort zone so I have less issues talking to strangers. Everyone enjoys a good compliment, so I figured this would be a good way for me to get over my anxiety while also making others feel better.

Meditate Twice a week

Another goal I have been able to keep. I try to at least dedicate 10 minutes a day, 2 days a week to meditation. It’s been working, but my schedule has been making it harder.

Run a Marathon

My marathon training begun Sunday, January 25th. I researched extensively on what sort of training program to do and settled on doing the “Hanson’s Method”. I plan on blogging my marathon training and the Hanson’s Method.

Achieve a gold medal in the president’s challenge

I started this list when I had a bronze medal. Less than a week ago I was able to earn as silver medal. I am still actively working my way towards the gold. I have less than 70k points left to go

Practice Martial Arts Twice a week

This was by far the most difficult goal I have had this month. It’s not so much that I don’t have time for it, but I feel that I don’t have enough interest to do it. I use to be a lot more active in martial arts back when I took lessons, but had since lost the discipline. I am trying to make sure I keep a disciplined training so I can still improve at it. I feel like what I really need to boost my interest is going back to my martial arts classes. When I took lessons I felt like I had a direction on how train. I feel by having that direction come up again I can motivate myself to train more.


Which brings me to my next point. A few weeks ago I watched a video on Tony Robbinson’s ideas on how to keep a resolution. He talked a lot about how we can only achieve our resolutions if we have enough reason to do them. This led me to re-examining my list’s items and ask myself “Why do I want to achieve this?”. I was able to find a valid reason for all but 1 of these items, so I unofficially took it off my list.

I still want to do the item on my list, but it’s not something I’ll be heavily focused on. Instead I want to focus on improving myself for a sport I’m passionate about, Parkour. In the Parkour community there is a “Challenge” that some practitioners take on in some point in their training called “365 days of Parkour”. This is where for 10 minutes a day, for 365 days, you have to do Parkour. I had attempted this challenge before, but for various reasons I chose to stop.

Now I feel like I am ready to adopt this challenge, or rather, a “lighter version” of the challenge. My previous challenge had me doing Parkour a minimum of 30 minutes a day, this year I am moving it down 10 minutes. I am also going to try to shoot videos of my progress as much as I can. One of the main issues I had with doing the 365 days was training, than spending the time to document it into plain text. I want to cut the fat by doing visual documentation. Lastly, I want to try to finish this as end of the year challenge. 31 days have already past on the calendar, and there are several days this year I know will prevent me from doing Parkour. Due to this, I am cutting it back to 300 days of Parkour. This way if I do need to focus myself away from Parkour, for whatever reason, I have a limited number of days I can do so.

If the 300 days of Parkour does go well enough I may move up to the actual 365 day challenge another year. Here’s to a new month, another 28 days to improve!

Leave a Reply

