Week 2 Marathon Training: Finding Pace

week2
Top: Miles To Run, Bottom: Miles Ran

The second week has finished up with more ease than the first week. My legs are fully healed up so running didn’t feel like a challenge. In fact, the biggest challenge has probably been the weather. We had an abnormally warm winter this year, making snow and ice not a problem. However, with the temperature touching near zero, and the wind bringing it down 10 more degrees, jogging has been quite the cold experience.

The fortunate thing about running is how the body ends up feeling like a furnace half way through the run. By the time I reached my end point, my hands felt frozen, but my entire body felt hot and sweaty. I feel like this weather played an effect on my pace. I had noticed that I would pick up the pace the first few miles just so I can warm up.

The Hanson’s Method wants a runner to run easy days two minutes per mile slower than the desired marathon pace. This is primarily to avoid fatigue so a runner is able to do the Tempo and SOS workouts effectively. Since the first few weeks are easy run days, a runner can determine what pace they should be going at. I had found that, while I started out running the recommended pace at first, I am running either my marathon pace or one minute per mile faster than needed.

I feel the best decision for me to avoid running too fast is to feel the day for the appropriate gear. The days I had reached my desired pace were days were I had felt the most adequately dressed for the weather. Many of my runs had been on days where I would be traveling outside a lot. While I do bring clothes prepared for extended times in cold conditions, I fail to bring gear suitable for running. A set of clothes for every day should be different than the clothes intended for marathon running.

Next week is week three so I’ll be transitioning to doing more mileage. For those who are tuning in for my dissection of the Hanson’s Method, expect chapter 2 to come 2-3 weeks from now. I am preparing myself for an upcoming competition this month so I had not had time to summarize the book. Until then, remember to remain dedicated and train hard.

Leave a Reply

