Monthy Progress Report: Feburary

I know that this it seems rather late to be posting a Monthly Progress Report for last month when this month is nearly over. I actually did have one for February written up weeks ago, but was hesitant to submit it. After much consideration, I settled to publish my progress report for February. I feel that if I want to have a fair reflection of my progress I cannot withhold publishing any reports.

The month of February was a rough one. Frankly, I was a little bit embarrassed by my performance for February. While I was able to keep up with my weekly challenges, such as meditation twice a week and martial arts, there were a number of sacrifices I made over the month.

Employment

The first sacrifice I made was my job. I interviewed for a position at a new company, but due to some miscommunication, I thought I was offered the position. I sent my 2-week notice in, went in on the day I thought I would start, and discovered that I was not, in fact, offered a position, but that they were still in the selection process. In short, I am unemployed.

300 Days of Parkour

In my January Progress report I talked about working on a new project called “300 Days of Parkour”. Unfortunately, the month I wanted to start also fell in line with same month of an upcoming security competition. My preparation for the competition absorbed a vast majority of my free time. I ended up have very inconsistent practice days and I was not able to shoot any training footage as a result.

Marathon Training

My marathon training had a few days lost as well. While I was able to keep up with most of the Hanson’s Method, 2-3 days had to be skipped. The weather had no mercy on me this winter, and I still feel guilty I didn’t power through the days I had to call it in.


Overall, February felt more like a month of regression than a month of progression. Despite all this, I am not going to look at it in a negative light. I may have lost my job, but I am not seeing it as a big deal. There’s a chance of getting the position, and if not, I can always focus on school work. Work has been a huge consumption of my time, and I feel this free time allows me to focus more on school work and certifications.

Secondly, the security competition is over. I have been more consistent with my training since then and will be begin recording my progression during the month of March.

Lastly, the weather is clearing up. It is becoming a lot more bearable to jog and I am also tweaking my jogging schedule each day to occur when weather is at it’s peak conditions.

It may have been a rough month, but it was not a bad month. With each moment of failure comes a moment of learning. With every sacrifice comes a gain. I will not stop pushing myself to reach my goals. I am going to take on March, as well as the rest of the year, with optimism. Until then, remember to stay dedicated and train hard.

Leave a Reply

