Week 11 Marathon Training: Right on Track

week11mileage
Top: Miles Ran, Bottom: Miles to Run

Week 11 begins and my knee pain has completely stopped. I am now finished with the Hanson’s Method’s recovery program modifications. Now I am running my weekly mileage in accordance to the recommended amount for the week.

Week 10’s mileage made it difficult to get back into the program as my Long Run day had me doing 15 miles. Week 11 steps up the mileage with a total of 16 miles for Thursday. The Hanson’s Method has these runs come in the middle of the week. With all that running before Thursday, anyone doing the Hanson’s Method will find themselves running on tired legs. This is suppose cause the 16 miles to simulate the last 16 miles of a marathon.

Needless to say, 16 miles was the most miles I had ever ran. With all the fatigue accumulated from the past week’s mileage I found myself to be extremely exhausted by mile 8. Fortunately enough for me, I had a route planned out that involves me running 8 miles away from my home than turning around to run 8 miles back. Whenever I felt like slowing down I would think “It’ll be much faster to get home if I just keep running”.

By the end of Thursday I arrived home exhausted and dehydrated. It took a lot of effort to stretch out, and it took a lot of time before I was able to eat without feeling nauseous. However, I was proud to have pushed myself to finish the distance. Now that I finished the longest distance in the Hanson’s Method, the rest of the program seems like a cake walk. I am ready to tackle on week 12. Until then, remember to stay dedicated and train hard.

Leave a Reply

