Week 14 Marathon Training: Keeping Pace

Top: Miles to Run, Bottom: Miles Ran
Top: Miles to Run, Bottom: Miles Ran

Week 14 has finished up as well as my second week training with the mobile app, Zombies, Run!. I had touched a bit on Zombies, Run! in my week 13 post, so for those unfamiliar with the app, I would recommend visiting here for more info.

I had been relying more on the Pace Tracker function of the app. Whenever I had finished running a mile, Zombies Run! tells me how much time it took to run that distance. I had previous been running with combination of a stop watch and calculating the total distance of my route. When I finished, I calculated my total time over distance to get a min/mile. While using this app I had learned that my runs always begin fast with a 6:30-7:00 min/mile than slow down to a 9:00-9:30 min/mile at the end. After making some adjustments I was able to find that happy medium of a 8:30 min/mile pace.

For the most part, the pace tracker has worked well. I had been able to get a feeling for what a 8:30 min/mile pace is like that I am now hitting it nearly on point every mile. So far running at the 8:30 min/mil pace seems to be ideal for my marathon so I do not plan on making any adjustments for the rest of the program. I hope that if I keep it up I can find myself running below my ideal 4:00:00 marathon finish time. Until then, remember to stay dedicated and train hard.

Leave a Reply

