Week 17 Marathon Training: Carb Loading

Top: Miles to Run, Bottom: Miles Ran
Top: Miles to Run, Bottom: Miles Ran

With 17 weeks down I’m nearing the last week of my marathon training. Overall, it has been a very exciting and very nerve wracking week. While I had been reading the Hanson’s Marathon Method like a bible there is one part of studying I cannot accomplish solely using the book. That part is creating a meal plan for my carb load.

The book does recommend to plan the carb loading a week below. 7 days prior I need to switch my diet so 50% of my daily calories come from carbs. When there are 3 days prior I need to start switching to  a diet where my daily calories are 70% carbs and I need to have a lower fiber intake. Than by 1-2 days prior to the marathon I need to switch to a high carb, low fiber diet, and make sure to exclude certain foods such as red meat.

This is fine and all, but this means I need to decide what to eat and when to eat it 3 days before the marathon starts. I took a lot of research into account on this. Many other carb loading meal plans were examined, and many food’s nutritional values were taken into account. In total, I had spent 5 hours creating a meal plan for carb loading. Next week’s mileage is suppose to be an easy week to not overload my muscles With only 1 week left my marathon training will come to a close. Until then, remember to stay dedicated and train hard.

Leave a Reply

