Week 18 Marathon Training: Last Stretch of the Road

Top: Miles to Run, Bottom: Miles Ran
Top: Miles to Run, Bottom: Miles Ran

This is it. After 18 weeks of training I am nearing Marathon Day. It has been quite the journey these past 18 weeks. I had taken these 18 weeks to challenge myself to go the distance. I explored many new and beautiful areas. I was able to push myself to never give up.

For those of you unfamiliar with how I planned out my program in week 0, I had to make adjustments to the Hanson’s Method’s program. In order to balance out work, classes, and training I had to begin my marathon method three days earlier. Although the last week is a taper week, the last few days are designed so the runner does not lose the benefits gained from their training while also not overexerting their muscles. This is why I decided to include running 2-3 miles on the last 3 days rather than walking.

I will be posting a full report on the marathon and my final thoughts on the Hanson’s Marathon method soon. Until then, remember to stay dedicated, and train hard.

Leave a Reply

