Goal 45 Accomplished: Take a Yoga Class

If you had been following my blog back in November you may have noticed that I participated in this 16-month challenge called “Buff Buddies”. This challenge ended up being the push I needed to get back into serious training by working out every single day. Out of the seven days of working out I had dedicated one of these days to be a “rest day” to stretch out and do light exercises for muscle recovery.

One of the most influential workouts I took up since putting in rest days has been Yoga. I’ll be the first to admit that, while I have done Yoga following Youtube videos, I am still a total newbie at the practice. I felt that the only way to truly understand the power of Yoga would to at least be to consult an expert in the field. Since Buff Buddies was coincidentally occurring before 2016, I thought what better way to get into the sport than to put it in as a Challenge item.

When I went into the Spirit of the Lake Yoga I thought it was like stepping into a different world. The office was filled with a lots of herbal tea bags, natural oils, and prayer beads. I was greeted by a very eccentric, tan-skinned, instructor who had very little body fat.I signed up for the drop-in Beginner’s class then took my place on a mat in a room filled with two very fit twenty year-old dudes and about five middle-aged women. The atmosphere definitely felt slow and calming, a complete opposite from my usual environment training at the Parkour academy where you’ll find muscle-bound guys doing flips to the sound of Dubstep.

When I initially thought Yoga I thought of it as just doing a lot of stretching. To my surprise, there was a lot of meditative techniques that mixed into the class. We started the class by reviewing the seven chakras in yoga. We were going over the Fire Chakra, which basically came down to a lot of heavy breathing and a lot of positions meant to raise our body’s temperature. I found that a lot of the different sort of poses we had to hold wasn’t so difficult to do, but when it came to maintaining a rapid breath while being in a one legged plank, it ended being quite the feat.

After one hour of being put in different positions and doing rapid breathing we ended our session lying on the floor working on slow breathing techniques. Now that I was able to gather my thoughts I came to the realization that my body was stretched, hot, and dehydrated. I didn’t feel like Yoga was as excessive as the workouts I usually do, but my entire mind felt exhausted while my body felt awake. My sore muscles also felt a lot more relaxed by the end of class..

I felt very renewed afterwards. During the entire workout I was able to release my mind and decompress. The workout ended up being a calming experience that benefited me more mentally than it did physically. I personally am not a spiritual kind of guy, but I did feel like doing Yoga allowed me to be more grounded to the earth.

Spirit of the Lake Yoga felt like an extremely welcoming place that gave me a pleasurable experience different than what I’m use to in my workouts. If you are ever in the Minnetonka-Excelsior area I would highly recommend signing up for one of their classes. I am looking forward to coming back for one of their later workshops, Yoga for the Runner.

2016 Challenge List:
45 Take a Yoga Class

One thought on “Goal 45 Accomplished: Take a Yoga Class

Leave a Reply

