Zombies Run! Spring 2016 Virtural Race

This week I had the pleasure of running Six to Start’s 2nd Zombies Run! Virtual Race. As a new found lover of races, I thought this race would be the perfect chance to challenge myself and run my first race competitively. It also seemed excitingly to participate in a race that immerses you into a Post-Apocalyptic story throughout the run.For those of who may not be familiar with this app, I would highly recommend trying it out. I’ve done a review of the application which can be found here.

The best thing about doing a virtual race was that it meant I had more flexibility on when I can race.The Spring 2016 virtual race could be run any time between March 30th – April 11th. This time range helped lessen the work of revising my running schedule to work 20160401_170438around a specific date. Another positive side to this was that, since I could plan my own route, I was able to pick a running path that was as little uphill as possible. When March 30th rolled around I got a pack containing a shirt and an envelope saying “Open After Completing Mission”. The T-shirt was one of the most comfortable, breathable articles of clothing I’ve ever had for running gear. I was so excited to wear it I chose to push my Run’s date to occur several days earlier.

Race Day arrived so it was time to gear up and race. While this may not be my first race I’ve done, this was going to be my first competitive race. Being an avid long distance runner, I felt the best way to challenge myself was to attempt the 10k as fast as possible. So, I followed my race day with as much consideration as I did with my marathon. I made sure I was well-hydrated, filled with carbs, and wearing the right amount of clothing so I can go at an optimal pace. I clicked start on my mission and off I went.

Not repeating the same mistake as my marathon run, I made sure that my first half of the race was maintaining a constant pace throughout. During my run I was deep focused on breathing, “Inhale through the nose, exhale through the mouth”. Since I was not running a full 26.2 miler, I made a few changes to how I approached this run. When running downhill I did not slow myself down to maintain my pace, but kept my stride so my pace was slightly faster. When going uphill I pushed myself to go slightly faster so I did not lose pace during my run.

This worked out for me during the majority of my run, but by mile 5 I was starting to fe20160401_170758el the effects of my energy expenditure. However, what kept me going at my pace was the Zombies Run! Application reminding me just how much distance I had left. By the time I hit the 6 mile marker I thought, “Just .2 miles left to go, time to pick up the pace”. At this point I booked it into full sprint mode to reach the end of my run. I heard the wonderful words, “Race Over, you can stop running”, before I slowed down to a cool-down jog. The 90-second sound post-race sound clip playing at the end of the run was exactly what I needed to catch my breath without my blood pressure going out of control. When the words “Mission Completed” were announced I stopped running altogether and stretched out.

Normally after a run I stay away from drinks that contain calories, but today I felt like this 6-miler was different. I gave the run my all and managed to even achieve a PR (39:42] by the end of it. I had a Gatorade saved for the race which was drunk with pride. Six to Start put on one entertaining Virtual Race completed with some pretty sweet rewards. I am taking what I learned from this race to plan out my races in the future. To all my fellow racers out there, I hope you had fun and gave it your all.

Leave a Reply

