1K Photo Challenge – Starting A Journal

A few weeks ago, Ransom Patterson, writer on College Info Geek, wrote an article about the importance of keeping a journal. Ransom found that since he started a journal he was able to develop a log that allows him to reflect on his life and see how he has developed over time.

Now when Ransom was talking about keeping a journal he mention how it’s more ideal to keep a daily journal rather than documenting one whenever you feel like it. This not only builds strong journaling habits, but also is a great way to express your thoughts and feelings on that day.

As some of you are aware, my Challenge List is a journal documenting milestones achieved in my life. When I first read about keeping a daily journal I figured doing it online only made sense for me. Although, when I look through all of my previous blog entries I found that a lot of them are formatted in a way that takes a while to write up. I felt that creating a daily journal here will not only require me to write a lot each day, but it will also take away from the entries that are there to reflect on each goal achieved on my list.

So, with that being said, I decided to create an online photo journal. A photo journal not only allows me to document each day visually, but also gives me the ability to write very brief descriptions about my thoughts and feelings that day. This photo journal will document one photo that involved a progression/event that has significance towards my goals.Every 30 days I will be taking the best/memorable/eventful photo and writing a reflection of that day. The reason why I call it a “1k Photo Challenge” is because I felt I needed an overall goal to motivate me for updating my daily journal. Since I like challenges, I thought I’ll make one that requires me to journal once day, for 1,000 days.

I’ve started this project about a month ago and already it has been a positive way for me to look back and see how much I’ve grown in just a mere 30 days. I recommend everyone to start a journal of their own and start writing in it every day. It has been a very encouraging way to go out and find adventure in life. If you have created a daily journal give a comment below on where it can be found and how it has been an influence for you.

4 thoughts on “1K Photo Challenge – Starting A Journal

  1. Hey, thanks for the shoutout! Glad the article inspired you. And the photo journal is a cool idea. Love the caving pictures–if you ever come to Northern Ireland you should visit the Marble Arch Caves. I’m a member of the caving club at Queen’s University Belfast, and it’s a great system to explore.

    Like

    • Hey, no problem Ransom!Thanks for the tip on the Marble Arch Caves, just did a quick Google search and was amazed on how different it is compared to the ones here in Minnesota. I would love to visit it one day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] The entire adventure did not feel extremely physical, but the four of us, all young and fit, were sweaty and out of breath by the time we finished. After we settled for lunch we took above ground to explore the creek and smaller caves around the area. Unfortunately for us, my girlfriend and I had to cut it short due to a family emergency. Although, both of us agree that the entire experience was definitely a memorable one, making it my top pick for the May 2016’s Photo of the Month. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

